An empty nest…?!

Screen Shot 2014-05-11 at 15.38.21

I’ve just received a number of worried messages asking why there seems to be an empty nest on the webcam… don’t worry! The right hand corner of the nest box is a blind spot for the camera, with more than enough room for the chicks, who are currently nestled in there to shelter from the rather windy weather.

As you can see from the picture above they’re currently (at the time of writing) being tended there by the female. It’s a bit frustrating if you were hoping to watch the chicks in action, but thankfully nothing to worry about!

27 comments

  1. So glad you’ve explained why we can’t see the chicks – must be nice a cosy in that corner. So grateful for all your efforts with these beautiful birds and fascinated to watch them grow, can’t stop watching. Thank you so much

    1. I must admit I was quite worried when the chicks seemed to have vanished, but i have another query, i can only see the female feeding one chick, are four chicks still ok??

  2. Had a great view earlier today of brunch- 2 breakfast items brought in quick succession and much shuffling round and all 4 being fed. Perhaps they are sleeping it off.

  3. I only discovered this exceptional web cam service after last Sat. I ad a peregrine catch a starling mid flight & land on my hedge, prob to catch breath! Ran to get my camera but by the time I’d got he’d gon!! I ad to check it was a peregrine I ad seen so googled it & this amazing site. I’ve become addicted I’m afraid! Lol. I luv birds of prey & this for me is just awesome. Thank u so much for putting the time & effort in.

  4. I only discovered this exceptional web cam service after last Sat. I ad a peregrine catch a starling mid flight & land on my hedge, prob to catch breath! Ran to get my camera but by the time I’d got it he’d gon!! I ad to check it was a peregrine I ad seen so googled it & found this amazing site. I’ve become addicted I’m afraid! Lol. I luv birds of prey & this for me is just awesome. Thank u so much for putting the time & effort in.

    1. Hi Tina, behaviour and habitat sounds better for Sparrowhawk to me? It would be very strange for a Peregrine to visit a garden, but of course nothing’s impossible.

      1. Well it seemed too big for a sparrow hawk which I actually av a few fotos of in my garden from various visits. But whatever it was I’m so glad it lead me to this site. I sneak a look whenever the opportunity arises.

  5. Thank you for your wonderful site. It’s giving hours of pleasure and is a wonderful excuse not to do any housework! I’ve been pondering the blue/green item that appeared in the nest a day or so ago. It’s just dawned on me……..is someone missing a racing pigeon! πŸ˜‰ :-0

  6. I wish they’d move back to middle! Bless em. Or it wud b great if we cud av another camera for a different view!

  7. Just watched Mum bring a whole starling in and then show the little ones how to deal with it. As she fed the two off camera we could clearly see the front 2 helping them selves to bits of meat. Wonderful and amazing to watch them learn.

  8. Watching webcam all the time can’t wait till they’re learning how to fly an hunt that screech they make is awesome . Brilliant .well done

  9. Yes but i haven’t seen the parents now for ages – the chicks appear occasionally. Could anything have happened to the parents as previously the mother was almost always on the nest other than when catching pigeons?

    1. As the chicks grow the parents spend less time actually on the nest, but are around out of view. The chicks have just taken to the blind spot. There’s nothing at all to worry about.

    1. The chicks have taken to the camera’s blind spot. As the chicks are getting bigger, the parents are spending less time actually on the nest, but are around. Don’t worry!

  10. Don’t worry about mum, she is never far away, either on one of the ledges of there is a wooden perch that comes off the left corner of the nestbox and she spends a lot of time on there. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

